Loyola University Chicago

The Graduate School



Philip H. Corboy Law Center

Lewis Towers Suite 630

Chicago, IL 60626

United States



Program Information

Degrees Offered:

Ph.D.-Philosophy, M.A.-Philosophy

Format: Campus

Program Description:

The Philosophy Department of Loyola Chicago has a doctoral program and two terminal master's programs: one in philosophy, and one in social philosophy. We have a long-standing commitment to philosophical pluralism. With one of the largest department in North America (approximately thirty full-time faculty members), we are able to offer a wide range of graduate seminars. All Loyola students are exposed to analytic, continental, and historical approaches to a wide array of contemporary philosophical problems. Our primary areas of focus are continental philosophy and ethics/social-political philosophy. Each of these areas is anchored by an endowed professorship. Currently, our two chair-holders are Adriaan Peperzak, the Arthur J. Schmitt Chair of Philosophy, and Diana Meyers, the Ignacio Ellacuría, S.J., Chair in Philosophy. We have additional research strengths in the history of philosophy, philosophy of religion, and epistemology.


North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission

Facts & Figures

Classification: Doctoral/Research University—Extensive

Locale: Large City

Size & Settings: 10,000-19,999

Find Schools