Umea University

Umea University



Umeå University

Umea, Vasterbott


Program Information

Degrees Offered:

M.Sc.-Master of Science in Physics

Format: Campus

Program Description:

The Master's Programme in Physics, which is fully adapted to the common Bologna structure of the higher education in Europe, is a two years study programme offered by the Department of Physics at Umea University. It is open for students holding a completed three years B.Sc. degree in calculus-based physics or engineering physics. However, it is possible to apply during the last semester of your Bachelor studies. The programme gives you the opportunity to acquire deeper knowledge and abilities within one or several sub-areas of physics. You have large freedom to choose courses and specialization according to your own interests and ambitions. The programme starts in August/September every year, but it is possible to join in in mid-January as well. Read more under "Application" below. Master's Thesis: The study programme includes an (at least) 30 ECTS credits Master's thesis project, performed independently by the student but under guidance of a supervisor, that should result in a written Master's thesis. The project should be within the field of physics and can be experimental, theoretical, or encompass both, and can be performed within any of the research groups at the department of physics. The current fields of research at the department are: Condensed Matter Physics, Nanophysics, Optical Physics, Laser Cooling and Trapping, Plasma Physics, Flame Dynamics, General Relativity, Statistical Physics and Superconductivity, Quantum Physics, Computational Physics, Complex Networks, Space Physics and Physics Education. It is also possible to carry out the Master's thesis project outside the Department of Physics, for example in a company or an institute.
Find Schools