University of Stellenbosch

University of Stellenbosch



International Office, Private Bag X1

Stellenbosch, Western Ca 7062

South Africa

Program Information

Degrees Offered:

Postgraduate Diploma in Theology; Licentiate in Theology, Master of Divinity

Format: Campus

Program Description:

The Faculty traces its institutional roots back to 1859. Today it is an open and ecumenical faculty of Stellenbosch University. The Faculty presents theology from a Christian perspective. The Faculty has agreements with the Dutch Reformed Church, the Uniting Reformed Church, and the Uniting Presbyterian Church in Southern Africa, and trains many of their students. But in fact students represent a wide range of churches in South Africa and other countries. There is a particularly noticeable increase in the percentage of foreign, postgraduate students. The Faculty consists of three discipline groups: Old and New Testament; Systematic Theology and Ecclesiology; and Practical Theology and Missiology. Postgraduate programmes are offered by the three discipline groups. Our discipline groups work together from within their respective disciplines to explore the four research areas for concerted research chosen by the Faculty. These research areas are theology and the quest for a hermeneutical approach; the problem of the public ministry of the church; the interplay between ministry and community development; and poverty. Working as an increasingly integrated team, we do research on theological-exegetical issues, as well as on historical, diaconical and pastoral issues. The understanding of God within postmodernity and the African context plays an important role.


North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission
Find Schools