University of Canterbury

College of Science



Christchurch, Canterbury 8041

New Zealand

Program Information

Degrees Offered:

PhD: Doctor of Philosophy, GradDipSc: Graduate Diploma in Science, PGDipSc: Postgraduate Diploma in Science (equivalent to first year of Masters programme); ;BSc(Hons): Bachelor of Science with Honours (PGDipSc plus research project: intensive preparation for second year of Masters or for PhD); ;MSc: Master of Science

Format: Campus

Program Description:

The Department of Physics and Astronomy has a vigorous and exciting programme of teaching and research using state-of-the-art facilities as part of its core work. The department has many collaborations nationally and internationally that give access to some of the best facilities around the world. With the only dedicated programme in Astronomy and Astrophysics in New Zealand, the Department manages New Zealand's largest telescopes at Mount John University Observatory, the Birdlings Flat radar facility and a ring laser facility, with atmospheric research activities at Scott Base and Antarctic. The University has joined the consortium building the Southern African Large Telescope (SALT) and has joined the Compact Muon Solenoid collaboration which studies proton collisions from the CMS detector at the CERN Large Hadron Collider.
Please note that international students only pay domestic fees for study at PhD level.

Find Schools