University of Canterbury

College of Science

Medical Physics


Christchurch, Canterbury 8041

New Zealand

Program Information

Degrees Offered:

PhD: Doctor of Philosophy, PGDipSc: Postgraduate Diploma in Science (equivalent to first year of Masters programme), BSc(Hons): Bachelor of Science with Honours (PGDipSc plus research project: intensive preparation for second year of Masters or for PhD); ;MSc: Master of Science

Format: Campus

Program Description:

The goal of the Medical Physics programme (the only such programme in New Zealand) is to educate qualified graduates in the knowledge and skills required of a physicist practising in a hospital or other relevant institution, providing a formal academic education in the necessary physics, anatomy, physiology, biology, technical and professional matters. The programme reinforces the academic and research interests of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, and supports links between the University and Christchurch Hospital, National Radiation Lab and the Centre for Healthcare Technologies of New Zealand.

Please note that international students only pay domestic fees for study at PhD level.

Find Schools