University of Canterbury

College of Science



Christchurch, Canterbury 8041

New Zealand

Program Information

Degrees Offered:

GradDipSc: Graduate Diploma in Science, PGDipSc: Postgraduate Diploma in Science (equivalent to first year of Masters programme); ;BSc(Hons): Bachelor of Science with Honours (PGDipSc plus research project: intensive preparation for second year of Masters or for PhD); ;MSc: Master of Science, PhD: Doctor of Philosophy

Format: Campus

Program Description:

The University of Canterbury offers New ZealandÆs only dedicated programme in Astronomy. The department offers a vigorous and exciting programme of teaching and research using state of the art facilities as part of its core work. The Department manages New Zealand's largest telescopes at Mount John University Observatory (the Mt John Observatory is used by students for astronomy projects including the search for extra-solar planets) and UC has recently joined the consortium building the Southern African Large Telescope (SALT).

Please note that international students only pay domestic fees for study at PhD level.

Find Schools