About Us

The University of Texas at El Paso has been redefining excellence in education for over a century. Originally founded in 1914 as the State School of Mines and Metallurgy, UTEP has grown exponentially throughout the years, developing into a powerful public research university with a longstanding commitment to academic excellence, affordability and accessibility. Today, the University is comprised of seven colleges and offers 75 bachelor’s programs, 78 master’s programs, 20 doctoral programs and 25 certificate programs. With a student population that exceeds 23,000 and a research portfolio that boasts more than $83 million in spending, UTEP is on track to become the first national public research university to truly serve the 21st-century student demographic. 


Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges